Afia Salam's Blog

Life is a journey

Confessions Of A Tech Challenged Communicator!

leave a comment »

If they can do it, I can do it. Ok; let me take a deep breath and get over my fear of being laughed at by the crowd in the room at my stupid questions. I just have to, have to learn how to make a digital story if I want to move ahead in my plans of going in the field as an environmental communicator.

I have always admitted to myself that I am tech challenged. Well, now is the time to come out in the open and admit it publicly in the hope of getting assistance in overcoming that short coming. If I am all thumbs interfacing cameras to computers, I have to let someone help me understand it, take me through the paces. Yes I might test their patience by faltering, but I must persevere to do what it takes to putting together all the elements and complete the story.

I have attended the International Conference on Community Based Adaptation-6 in Hanoi, Vietnam. Heard so many presentations; seen so many interesting stories. I need to be able to communicate the stories from my country in a manner that people sit up and take notice. I want to become an effective enough communicator who can act as a bridge between the communities and the organizations who can make a difference in their lives.

So, doesn’t matter if I am a dinosaur. I will learn. I will use pictures to tell the stories as they far outweigh the written word. If I have to wade through some tutorials to learn how to do that, willy nilly I will do it. They say practice makes perfect. Oh well, there goes my afternoon powernap!

Now, how does that thingamajig fit into this USB slot!

Written by afiasalam

August 9, 2012 at 11:24 am

Posted in Miscellaneous

Leave a Reply

